JIMMY BAIN sessions

This is the list of the sessions I know Jimmy Bain appears... I've classified them into several categories:

Thin Lizzy

A great band, commanded by the much-missed Phil Lynott. The lineup for this album was:

But they got some friends to play with them: Jimmy Bain (bass), Huey Lewis (harmonica). The thanks credits mention Mark Nauseef (drums), as he played with the band substituting Brian Downey for a short tour.

Phil Lynott

Solo in Soho features Scott Gorham (guitar), Mark Knopfler (guitar), Gary Moore (guitar), Snowy White (guitar), Jerome Rimson (bass), Jimmy Bain (keyboards), Midge Ure (keyboards), Billy Currie (keyboards), Brian Downey (drums), Mark Nauseef (drums), Bob C. Benberg (drums), Tony Charles (drums), Huey Lewis (harmonica).

The Philip Lynott album is quite different from what he recorded with Thin Lizzy, but a beautiful album anyway. Featuring many of his usual friends: Mark Knopfler (guitar), Midge Ure (guitar, keyboards), Scott Gorham (bass), Jimmy Bain (bass), Jerome Rimson (bass), Darren Wharton (keyboards), Mel Collins (sax), Huey Lewis (harmonica), Brian Downey (drums), Pierre Moerlen (drums), Mark Nauseef (drums), Rusty Egan (drums), Bob C. Benberg (drums, from Supertramp).

Gary Moore
(scan courtesy of Alex Gitlin)

This album wasn't released as an official album, but several years later, it finally appeared. The musicians in the album are: Charlie Huhn (vocals), Andy Pyle (bass), Jimmy Bain (bass), Don Airey (keyboards), and Tommy Aldridge (drums). The album was recorded in the beginning of 1981. 


David Kubinec This album features the Chris Spedding Band (Chris Spedding on guitar, Pat Donaldson on bass, Timi Donald on drums), plus John Cale, Ollie Halsall (guitar), and Jimmy Bain (bass). 
Roy Harper
As always, this Roy Harper album features an amazing lineup: Kate Bush (vocals), Hugh Burns (guitar), Andy Roberts (guitar), David Gilmour (guitar), B.J. Cole (pedal steel guitar), Jimmy Bain (bass), Neil Jason (bass), Will Lee (bass), Tony Levin (bass), Pete Wingfield (keyboards), Don Grolnick (keyboards), Dave Lawson (keyboards), David Bedford (keyboards), Jimmy Maelen (percussion), Andy Newmark (drums), Timi Donald (drums), plus Steve Broughton, Jim Cuomo, Sal Di Troia, Joe Partridge. 

Kate Bush A great artist. This album features: Ian Bairnson (guitar), Brian Bath (guitar), Alan Murphy (guitar), Jimmy Bain (bass), Danny Thompson (bass), Dave Lawson (keyboards), Geoff Downes (keyboards), Preston Heyman (drums), Stuart Elliott (drums), Donal Lunny (bouzouki), Andrew Powell (arrangements), David Gilmour (backing vocals).  

Sam Kinison Sam Kinison was a famous comedian in the States (now deceased), who had many friends among the heavy metal musicians. This album features appearances by: Lanny Cordola (guitar), Leslie West (guitar), Slash (guitar), Dweezil Zappa (guitar), Robert Sarzo (guitar, from Hurricane), C.C. De Ville (guitar, from Poison), Jimmy Bain (bass), Rudy Sarzo (bass), Randy Jackson (bass), David Bryan (keyboards, from Bon Jovi), Kim Bullard (keyboards), Mike Baird (drums), Jody Cortez (drums), Fred Coury (drums, from Cinderella), and backing vocals by Eddie Money, Tommy Funderbunk, Gary Falcone, David Cumming, Billy Trudell, Richie Zito, Chuck Wright. 

VV.AA. This benefit album was conceived by Ronnie James Dio with all his band. They reunited around 40 big names mostly from the hard rock / heavy camp, playing all together in a song, 'Stars'. The list of players for that song is endless:
Tommy Aldridge
David Alford (from Rough Cutt)
Carmine Appice (drums) (from King Kobra)
Vinny Appice (drums)
Jimmy Bain (drums)
Frankie Banali (drums) (from Quiet Riot)
Eric Bloom (vocals) (from Blue Oyster Cult)
Mick Brown (from Dokken)
Vivian Campbell (guitars)
Carlos Cavazo (guitars) (from Quiet Riot)
Amir Derakh (from Rough Cutt)
Ronnie James Dio (vocals)
Don Dokken (vocals) (from Dokken)
Kevin Dubrow (vocals) (from Quiet Riot)
Brad Gillis (guitars) (from Night Ranger)
Craig Goldie (guitars) (from Giuffria)
Chris Hager (from Rough Cutt)
Rob Halford (vocals) (from Judas Priest)
Chris Holmes (drums) (from WASP)
Blackie Lawless (vocals) (from WASP)
George Lynch (guitars) (from Dokken)
Yngwie Malmsteen (guitars)
Mick Mars (from Motley Crue)
Dave Meniketti (vocals) (from Y&T)
Dave Murray (guitars) (from Iron Maiden)
Vince Neil (vocals) (from Motley Crue)
Ted Nugent (guitars)
Eddie Ojeda (guitars) (from Twisted Sister)
Jeff Pilson (bass) (from Dokken)
Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser (guitars) (from Blue Oyster Cult)
David St. Hubbins (from Spinal Tap)
Rudy Sarzo (bass)
Claude Schnell (keyboards)
Neal Schon (guitars) (from Journey)
Paul Shortino (vocals) (from Rough Cutt)
Derek Smalls (from Spinat Tap)
Adrian Smith (guitars) (from Iron Maiden)
Mark Stein (keyboards) (from Vanilla Fudge)
Geoff Tate (vocals) (from Queensryche)
The song, 'Stars', was written by Ronnie James Dio, Jimmy Bain & Vivian Campbell. It features a different singer for each verse, plus 6 guitar solos (played by Craig Goldie, Eddie Ojeda, Vivian Campbell, Brad Gillis, Neal Schon, George Lynch, Yngwie Malmsteen, Vivian Campbell (again), George Lynch, Carlos Cavazo, Brad Gillis (again), Craig Goldie (again), Donald 'Buck Dharma' Roeser). After more verses, there's another guitar solo by Neal Schon.

Other tracks in the albums feature: Jimi Hendrix, Y&T, and live tracks by Dio (the band, featuring 'Hungry for heaven', recorded live at San Diego in December 1985), Accept, Motorhead, Rush, Kiss and Scorpions.

Musicians mentioned in this page that I have projected to cover in my site someday: And short tributes to:

If you can contribute (with additions, corrections, opinions, etc.), please, send me an e-mail message at mterol@myrealbox.com

Press here to come back to Jimmy Bain's biography page

Page created by Miguel Terol on: 09/May/2000. Last modified on: 09/May/2000.