Computes the Ten Matches of the Vedic Panchang

Needs as input the star and the rasi of the two horoscopes to be matched

Usage Rules:

Since specfic stars belong to specific rasis, any random combination will be reduced to a valid combination only for each horoscope, assuming that the star has been chosen correctly. This means that if one selects Ashwini and Meena, and clicks the calculate button, then Meenam is changed to Mesha since Ashwini belongs to Mesha wholly.

But if a star is split between two rasis, then the latter rasi will be used as the default. For example, choosing Krittika and Makaram will be corrected to Krittika and Rishaba, even though Krittika could also belong to Mesha. But Krittika and Rishaba or Krittika and Mesha combinations will also be allowed.

The same applies to all the other stars that are split viz., Mrigashira, Punarvasu, Utraphalguni, Chitra, Visaka, Uttrashada, Danishta, Purvabhadrapad

The matches need to be interpreted as follows.

  • Natchat: General Compatibility. Overall getting-togetherness after marriage.
  • Gana: The nature of the star and the person as such; and the compatibility prediction thereafter
  • Magendra: Indicates progeny
  • Isthri Thirka: As the name indicates happiness and wellbeing of the wife.
  • Yoni: Sex Life
  • Rasi: Similar to Natchat but not as strong
  • Rasi Athibathi: Compatibility of the Lords of the rasis of the male and female
  • Vasiyap: Mutual Attraction
  • Rachhu: Most important of all the matches. If rachhu match fails, a definite fatal consequence
  • Vaathai: Enemy/Friend relationship of the rasi lords.

    At least 5 mathches are a requisite. And rachhu should be present in those five. Important ones are Natchat, Gana, Magendra, Yoni and Rachhu matches. The others are of lesser importance compared to these five.

  • Non-Sanskrit names used for stars are:
  • Thiruvathirai (Arudra)
  • Punarpusam (Punarvasu)
  • Pusam (Pushya)
  • Puram (Purvaphalguni)
  • Uthiram (Utraphalguni)
  • Anusham (Anuradha)
  • Kettai (Jyeshta)
  • Pooradam (Purvashada)
  • Uthiradam (Uttrashada)
  • Thiruvonam (Sravana)
  • Avitam (Danishta)
  • Sathayam (Satabhishak)
  • Pooratadhi (Purvabhadrapad)
  • Uthiratadhi (Utrabhadrapad)