I decided that I liked Enya so much that she deseved her own page. The first section will contain general information, such as biographical information. The following sections are separated by album, listed in chronological order of their relase dates. At the end are my Enya MIDI files that were previously listed on my MIDI page.

General Info.

Enya was born on May 17, 1961 as Eithne Ní Bhraonáin (Eithne is pronunced just like "Enya"). She was born in Gaoth Dobhair, County Donegal, in Ireland. Her musical career began in 1980 when she joined her family's band Clannad, performing on keyboards as well as providing background vocals. She remained with Clannad until 1982, when they split with their manager, Nicky Ryan. Enya left the band with Ryan, who believed that she had talent of her own, talent enough for a solo career. Enya moved to Dublin to live and work with Ryan and his wife Roma. BBC-TV began work on a television documentary series in 1986 called "The Celts." This series would discuss the history and cultural influences of the Celtic people of the United Kingdom. Enya was commissioned to both write and perform the music. "The Celts" was first shown in 1987, and in the same year Enya released an album containing selections from "The Celts." This album, titled "Enya," was her first album, but went largely unnoticed.

In 1987 after the release of "Enya," the head of Warner Music U.K., Rob Dickins, heard the album and decided to record and promote a new album, no matter how long it would or how expensive the promotion would be. Her second album, "Watermark," was released in 1988. Though no singles were planned, "Orinoco Flow" was released as a single and hit the Top 10 charts in more than one country.

Enya released her third album entitled "Shepherd Moons" in 1991. In 1992, she remastered he premiere album and re-released it under the name "The Celts." Her latest original album, "The Memory of Trees," was released in 1995. In 1997, "Paint the Sky with Stars: The Best of Enya" was released, and I'm not sure when her next original album is planned to be released. If you know, please mail me.

Enya/The Celts

  • The Celts
  • Aldebaran
  • I Want Tomorrow
  • March of the Celts
  • Deireadh An Tuath
  • The Sun in the Stream
  • To Go Beyond (I)
  • Fairytale
  • Epona
  • Triad (St. Patrick, Cú Chulainn, Oisin)
  • Portrait
  • Boadicea
  • Bard Dance
  • Dan Y Dwr
  • To Go Beyond (II)

    Enya's first, self-titled album and its remastered re-release "The Celts" are nearly identical and both are good. The songs on "Enya"/"The Celts" are much shorter, simpler, and of a smaller scale than her later songs. That's not to say that they aren't any good...they are. These songs are good examples that "size doesn't matter."


    "Watermark" is actually rather good, even though only one song on this album became really popular. One reason it did so well is probably because it contains "Orinoco Flow," which is, I think is her most popular song. That isn't the only good song on that album, though. Some of my other favorite songs from "Watermark" are "Storms in Africa" (parts I and II), "Cursum Perficio," and "The Longships."

    Shepherd Moons

    "Shepherd Moons" is, I think, one of her better albums. It's a little better than "Watermark" and "The Celts," but it isn't quite as good as "The Memory of Trees." The first two tracks are my favorite - "Shepherd Moons" is an instrumental track and "Caribbean Blue" includes vocals. Both are very peaceful and have many times helped me get to sleep. Not only that, they are both extremely romantic! I also like "Ebudæ" ("Ebudæ" is Latin for the Hebrides Islands), "Book of Days," "Evacuee," Marble Halls," and "Afer Ventus" (afer ventus is the Latin term for the south wind, or the "African wind").

    The Memory of Trees

    This is, by far, Enya's best album. I could listen to the whole thing all day long and not get tired of it. The music on this album ranges from the quiet and peaceful "From Where I Am" to the loud and powerful "Anywhere Is." My favorite song in the whole world is track six on this album - "China Roses." It is the song you hear in the background now. If you don't have this album, I suggest you go out any buy it. Also, if you have never heard any Enya music, go to your local Blockbuster Music store and have them let you listen to this one - the music is WONDERFUL.

    Paint the Sky with Stars

    This is a compliation of Enya's greatest hits so far. Included on this album were two new songs: the title track, and "Only If...". I didn't buy this album because I have all of her other albums, and therefore all of the music on this one. I did, however, buy the single "Only If...". It is quite good, and is the background music on the main page of my website.

    Enya MIDI files

    Files from "Enya"/"The Celts" Files from "Watermark" Files from "Shepherd Moons" Files from "The Memory of Trees" Released as a single

    Copyright ©2000 by Billy Traylor